Fun
Only logged in members can reply and interact with the post.
Join SimilarWorlds for FREE »

It’s weird to think about how your gummy snacks aren’t vegetarian

I mean not that I really care, I’m not vegetarian or vegan, it’s just a bit strange cause you don’t normally associate fruit gummies with meat.

Side note, look at these little tiny baby gummy bears!
I read the ingredients and it says they have bovine gelatin, so you know they’re fancy✨
Top | New | Old
Neoerectus · M
As a young guy of 19 going vegetarian, long ago, I was amazed how many products had animal shortning, animal lecithin, etc.

At the time, Ritz crackers had animal shortening, but HiHo's had plant based oils... That changed over time...
hunkalove · 61-69, M
I was having lunch with a girlfriend way back in about 1980 and she ate one of those little two-cracker Saltine packages. I asked her when started eating meat again. She wouldn't believe me when I said they contained lard. She .looked at the ingredients, got up, went to the ladies' room, and puked. What a great lunch date!
GLITTER · 36-40, F
That’s what you’ve gotta love rowntrees. Their jelly sweets are vegan friendly
Lostsavage · 46-50, M
Is it meat when it comes from hooves, bones, and maybe gristle? Gelatin is in jams, jellies and is used as a preservative in many foods. The label might just call it a "preservative."
Matt85 · 36-40, M
You can get realistic substitutes
You cannot for chocolate mousse though and i am very upset
AntisocialTroll · 56-60, F
@Matt85 Carte D'Or do a vegan chocolate mousse powder that you can mix with soya milk, you need an electric whisk though.
Matt85 · 36-40, M
@AntisocialTroll thankyou
AntisocialTroll · 56-60, F
@Matt85 You're welcome.
HotPizza71 · 51-55, M
My daughter loves jellies,but now she gone all vegetarian,it's difficult finding her some in the shops,she can eat
I've been aware of this since I was a kid. I instinctually check the ingredients now
Degbeme · 70-79, M
I buy them in bulk.
candycane · 36-40, F
@Degbeme i buy them in pounds
hippyjoe1955 · 61-69, M
I don't suffer from the mental illness of being a vegan and I don't eat gummies.
Zeuro · 26-30, F
@hippyjoe1955 same regarding the first half
Popobandar4 · 26-30, M
Gummy bears , yummy tummy mummy
wares my best gummi bear suit
Zeuro · 26-30, F
@alicewhite now that’s a gummy made with meat
@Zeuro i don,t have many tricks...but begin meat i can due:P
Aww cause most gelatin is made with bloody pigs hoofs so it's unkosher but that's cow hoof gelatin so maybe it is... ?
This comment is hidden. Show Comment
Who knows- you get all sorts of junk in sweets.

 
Post Comment