Only logged in members can reply and interact with the post.
Join SimilarWorlds for FREE »

I can't find a clear answer to this baseball question.

Hypothetical situation: There are runner's on first and second, with one out. The batter hits a ground ball foul, third base side. The third baseman fields it and throws the ball back to the pitcher but over throws him! Is that a live ball?
biandlargeny · 56-60, M
No once the ball is touched in foul territory the play is dead and no runners may advanced till the pitcher has the ball back on the mound
biandlargeny · 56-60, M
@WizardofOz not a problem
WizardofOz · 26-30, M
@biandlargeny Yes, I had it confirmed from a "professional" ump. A friend's dad lol He umped MLB for one year. In MLB they don't even put a foul ball back in play, the home plate ump throws the pitcher a new ball and either says, "play ball" or just points to the pitcher to let him know the ball is now "live". Which, in high school isn't the case, because they don't have a million balls, so he said in that case, the ball is dead, until the pitcher has full possession of the ball and the batter is in the box? Does that make sense? I find it so interesting!
biandlargeny · 56-60, M
@WizardofOz it does. Especially when the runner can steal a base on the pitcher. Once the ump says playball., everything starts again
Patriot96 · 56-60, C
No, its a foul ball. The play is dead
WizardofOz · 26-30, M
@Patriot96 That's what I would think. Does it become live once the pitcher takes full possession of it?
Patriot96 · 56-60, C
@WizardofOz yes, the ball is now in play
WizardofOz · 26-30, M
@Patriot96 Okay, thanks.
exexec · 61-69, C
No. After a foul ball, the ball is dead until the umpire says "play" (or the equivalent).
FreestyleArt · 31-35, M
I forgot Baseball is even's been so much this year
Nevertooold · 56-60, M
Yes it is
WizardofOz · 26-30, M
@Nevertooold so you're saying runners can advance? is dead.
AthrillatheHunt · 51-55, M
Dead ball 4 sure

Post Comment