Asking
Only logged in members can reply and interact with the post.
Join SimilarWorlds for FREE »

You make the call.

There's a runner on first, no outs. The batter hits a sharp one hopper to the first baseman. The runner on first, runs back to first to avoid being tagged. The first baseman steps on first base, before the batter reaches it, then tags the runner that was originally on first. Is that a double play?
This page is a permanent link to the reply below and its nested replies. See all post replies »
biandlargeny · 56-60, M
If he tagged the runner before stepping on the base for the force I didn't think he would be out as he was on the base. But I'm not sure.
WizardofOz · 26-30, M
@biandlargeny I learned today, that he would be out. In a situation like that, the base is not a "safe haven" for the runner. The fielder made the mistake of putting his foot on the base first, then tagging the runner that originally occupied it. You are correct, in that situation, the original runner remains at first.
biandlargeny · 56-60, M
@WizardofOz but the runner would be out as well if he tags the runner first? Then stepping on the bag he would complete a double play?
WizardofOz · 26-30, M
@biandlargeny Yes, I forgot to mention that. That would be a double play, the fielder messed up.
biandlargeny · 56-60, M
@WizardofOz very interesting. So the force of the battery putting the ball in play makes first base no longer safe
WizardofOz · 26-30, M
@biandlargeny Yes, the runner has to advance. Like it was put to me, if he didn't have to advance, there would never be a double play in situations like that.
biandlargeny · 56-60, M
@WizardofOz vey interesting. I know that's never come up in any game I been a part of as a player or as an umpire
WizardofOz · 26-30, M
@biandlargeny I've never seen it happen in this type of scenario. I've seen a runner get in a pickle and two players will occupy the same base but I've never seen it happen to avoid a double play.
ChipmunkErnie · 70-79, M
@WizardofOz Once the batter is put out by stepping on first, the runner does NOT have to advance.
WizardofOz · 26-30, M
@ChipmunkErnie Yes, that's where the fielder messed up. He should have tagged the runner, even though he was standing on first, then put his foot on first to complete the double play.