ChipmunkErnie · 70-79, M
I'm not 100% sure just where/when the fielder has the obligation to get out of the baseline. It's been a LONG time since I played. ;)
WizardofOz · 26-30, M
@ChipmunkErnie The infielder cannot obstruct a runner, unless the infielder has the ball or is about to receive the ball, whether to actually field a hit ball or thrown ball. Runner is awarded the base he was running toward when obstruction occurred. In this case, it would be first base.
ChipmunkErnie · 70-79, M
@WizardofOz On one of the interference calls I saw recently the fielder was pretty much standing right on the base and the runner was trying to avoid him and stick one foot on the base; the fielder essentially fell over the runner's leg, which was trying to reach the base, and the runner was called out.
WizardofOz · 26-30, M
@ChipmunkErnie There's a lot of variables on a play like that. The fielder can't block first, second or third, unless the throw puts them in the base path but they can definitely stand on it waiting for a throw. The runner can slide into the base and make contact with the the fielder but for the contact to be legal, they have to start their slide a reasonable distance from the base and they have to be able to touch a part of the bag. In other words, it has to be a legitimate slide. A lot of it is a judgement call by the umpire.